Posted by: James Kennell | August 16, 2010

Research day trips – help welcomed!

Over the next month or so, I’ll be spending some time in Whitstable, Margate and Folkestone for the final stages of my research.   I’m carrying out a mix of interviews and observation-style research, which means I’ll be floating about in Margate’s Old Town, the area around Whitstable’s harbour street and Folkestone’s Creative Quarter , making observations, talking to people I meet and trying to put together a picture of how these places are being used on a day-to-day basis.

If you’d like to talk to me about my research, or think there is someone else I should be speaking to, or somewhere I should be visiting, please let me know.  Drop me a line via the contact page of this blog or on twitter, where you can find me via @socialseaside .  I’ll use the twitter feed quite a lot as I’m doing my research I’d imagine, so it’s a good way to get in touch with me  while I’m in your area or to find out where I’m going to be and when.

My research is concerned with getting behind the ‘official’ versions of these three regenerating seaside towns and investigating the impacts that cultural activity is having at street level.  My findings will be more interesting and more useful if as many people as possible get involved in representing the places where they live, work and create, so please do get in touch if you can help, and be prepared for occasional polite interruptions by a man with a notebook over the next few weeks!

Leave a Reply

Categories

